Roy Likins Scholarship
Share |

About the Roy W. Likins Scholarship

Roy Likins was a life-long member of AWWA. He served as president of Palm Coast Utility Corporation for six years and served the utility in various capacities for 16 years. He was a leader in the water industry, serving as chair of the FW&PCOA Region IX and on various state committees with the primary focus on education and training. In 1972, he hosted the Florida Water Resources Conference and later served as secretary / treasurer and chair of the Florida Section. In 1982, he received the prestigious AWWA George Warren Fuller award. Roy was also a strong and active member of his community, serving in the Jaycees, Flagler County Shrine Club, as a member and chair of the School Board, and as treasurer and Chair of the United Way.

After his untimely death in 1991 at the age of 53, the Florida Section honored his service and his memory by naming its scholarship program the Roy W. Likins Scholarship.

Each year, the Likins Scholarship Committee awards a minimum of $2,500 to a maximum of $25,000 in scholarships. The scholarships are distributed in $2,500 or more increments to deserving Florida students, either in undergraduate or graduate school.

Members of the Scholarship Committee are:

  • Steve Soltau, Chair
  • Marjorie Craig, Past Chair
  • Dr. Will Lovins
  • Charlie Voss
  • Rebecca Olivia
  • Cristina Ortega-Castineiras

The Likins Scholarship Fund is maintained by the FSAWWA Treasurer in an account separate from the General Fund. The fund is managed by the Likins Scholarship Fund Board. Board members for the year 2020 are:

  • Steve Soltau, FSAWWA Scholarship Committee Chair
  • Marjorie Craig, FSAWWA Treasurer
  • Ana Maria Gonzalez, FSAWWA Section Director
  • Richard Anderson, FSAWWA Finance Committee Chair

For more information contact Likins Chair:

Steve Soltau, MBA
P: (727) 453-6990



The Florida Section American Water Works Association will annually award up to $2,500 scholarships or more per student to eligible students pursuing a degree relating to the drinking water industry. The scholarship will provide reimbursement of tuition, books, and fees through the College/University Financial Aid Department over the upcoming two (2) year period. Scholarships will be awarded in both undergraduate and graduate categories.


  • Applicant must be an upper level undergraduate (over 65 credit hours) or graduate student enrolled in an accredited Florida Institution and currently majoring in an area related to the drinking water industry.

  • Applicant must have a minimum 3.0 grade point average based on a 4.0 system.

  • Previous scholarship recipients are not eligible.
  • Online application
  • Complete the attached application form    

  • Enclose official college transcript(s) for undergraduate and graduate courses.

  • Enclose two letters of recommendation.

  • Enclose a brief letter describing your interest in the FSAWWA scholarship.

Email application to Steve Soltau at

Or mail the documents to:

Steve Soltau, MBA
Pinellas County Utilities
6730 142nd Ave. N
Largo, FL 33771

Selection Process

  • Evaluation will be made on the basis of academic performance, work experience, community and civic activities, honor, career goals, letters of recommendation, and evidence of leadership, motivation, character, and self-reliance.

  • At the option of the Scholarship Committee, the top five candidates may be telephone interviewed by a member of the scholarship committee.

  • Scholarship recipients will be selected by the Scholarship Committee of the Florida Section American Water Works Association.

  • Final Selection: Committee will make final selection of scholarship awardees by August 1st yearly.

Roy W. Likins Scholarship Recipients - click here


Return to Homepage